So I did a thing! I got a job. A crappy, minimum wage, back-breaking, full-time job. I hate it, but it’s keeping food on the table and I’m slowly paying off the debt I owed to my sister and her boyfriend.

The thing is, I’m working 40-50 hours a week. It’s really quite physically demanding work, and I spend my days off looking after my niece. I’ve barely read a thing, and I’ve not had a moment to write anything about what I have been reading. Nor even to write about how I wish I had the time to read. So, to the few people who follow this blog… I’m sorry I haven’t updated! Three whole months, wow. I didn’t realise it was that long.

I’m currently job hunting. I keep talking about getting into publishing, but never make the move. I was convinced that the path for me was to stay in this job, saving up a little money, and then starting a Masters degree in September. However, after looking at my student loan balance (bad idea) and the news that the government will be offering graduate loans from September 2016, I can’t justify putting this off any longer. It’s such a waste of time and money, and my energy and strength. I’d rather be putting all of that into something that feels fulfilling and will impact my future career! The hard part is finding paid work experience, I can’t afford to do unpaid WE, unfortunately. So here we go, job hunt.

Until then, I’m planning on being more disciplined with my time. So far in 2015 I’ve managed to start reading three books! I’ve just not finished any of them. However, reviews may be on the way. At the moment I’m reading Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham, The Three by Sarah Lotz, and Funny Girl by Nick Hornby. Although Hilary Mantel’s Bring Up The Bodies and Eleanor Catton’s The Luminaries both arrived today, so they’re next on the list. Or more like top of the pile. My sister’s boyfriend has decided to buy a proper book case, because all of my books are taking up too much space on their shelves. And my sister bought me a book journal for Christmas. I plan on using it as well as this blog! Whether I do or not is another story.

In non-bookish/jobbish news, the veganism is going great. I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it on here in the past, but I transitioned from an eleven-year-vegetarian diet to a fully vegan lifestyle back in September. I’m feeling really good and healthy. I’m also working on weight-loss too, ahead of my friend’s wedding in November 2015, I’ve lost ~16lbs since October 15th. Smashing it!

So… back to the world of books. What should I be reading next? What have I missed? Which reviews should I be reading? What books are coming out this year that I need on my radar? I feel so behind.

Leave a Reply

