January (mid-hiatus) Round-Up

So life has been hectic the past few months… working 40-50 hour weeks, looking after my niece when I’m not in work, and attempting to find time to sleep and eat and exercise. I’ve been slowly trucking along with some books, but not enough to finish many, or write reviews.

In just over a week I’ll be finishing up with my job and moving back to Liverpool for a bit. I feel like my goals have become a little blurry, career-wise, and I’ll probably have a better time getting work experience and coming back down to London for it, than trying to negotiate time off work to do it otherwise. Hopefully, moving home will mean more time to read and (of course) review.

This is just a short round-up of what I’ve read, what I am currently reading, and what I’m going to be reading soon.

Most recently read:

Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley. If you know much about me at all, you’ll know that I love comics quite a lot – I wrote my dissertation on ’em. I picked this up a couple of months ago and loved it.

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch. I wanted to read this for ages, and kept forgetting to pick it up. Big fan, will review asap!

Currently reading:

The Three by Sarah Lotz. I’m enjoying it, but it’s taking a long time. I don’t know why I can’t just sit down and read it all in one go.

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham. A bit like The Three I’m reading it in bits and pieces, but I’m happy about that. You can dip in and out comfortably, which is nice.

We Are Pirates by Daniel Handley. I was super excited about this book, and then received it in a first reads giveaway on Goodreads. Thanks Bloomsbury!

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. (Click through for review) The Grisha Trilogy is really popular in the YA world, so I started this one and then got distracted. Will probably end up reading in one sitting and then impulse buying the last two. (Edit: this actually happened. So predictable.)

Going to read when I’ve finished all of those ^^ :

Netgalley titles:

As Red as Blood and As White as Snow – Salla Simukka

Gifted – Donald Hounam

A Whisper of Wolves – Kris Humphrey

The Raven’s Head – Karen Maitland

Books I already own:

Throne of Glass – Sara J Maas

How to Build a Girl – Caitlin Moran

Ready Player One – Ernest Cline

Lagoon – Nnedi Okorafor

Above – Isla Morley

Earthfall – Mark Walden

The Luminaries -Eleanor Catton

Need to pick up when I have some money:

Red Rising – Pierce Brown

All The Bright Places – Jennifer Niven

The Art of Being Normal – Lisa Williamson

Trigger Warning – Neil Gaiman

Rooms – Lauren Oliver

Timebomb – Scott K. Andrews

Clariel – Garth Nix

Sex Criminals vol. 2 – Chip Zdarksy, Matt Fraction

So yeah, that’s just where I’m up to with my reading, and a basic list of what reviews to expect. Once I’ve finished work on the 7th, and moved back on the 13th, I’m expecting to be back to a regular review posting schedule. In the mean time, keep your eyes peeled for anything spontaneous I find the time for!

Leave a Reply

