Liebster Award

So, last week, although I’ve been completely AWOL lately, the lovely Kath from The Last Reader nominated me for the Liebster Award, which is an award created by bloggers to help newish blogs make friends. It’s actually my first blog award, so I’m quite excited about it!

Here are the rules

  • Link back to the person that nominated you.
  • Answer the questions given by the nominator.
  • Nominate 11 other bloggers (with less than 200 followers).
  • Come up with 11 questions for them to answer.
  • Notify your nominees.

11 Questions from Kath

1. If you are a teacher, which book would you recommend to your students to read?

I suppose it would depend on what age I was teaching. If it was primary school age it’d be anything by Enid Blyton, timeless classic children’s fiction! 12-14? The Catcher In The Rye. Older? I’d say 1984, but if I was a teacher I’d probably just be recommending that children and teenagers read as much as they can, whenever they can, it’d not be up to me to make them read anything specific as long as they were enjoying it.

2. What is your favorite picture book?

Each Peach Pear Plum! It was my first favourite book, the first thing I bought when I found out my sister was pregnant, and now my niece loves it (even though she can’t read yet).

3. Any favorite theater play?

Regretfully I don’t really watch much theatre, mainly because I’m always broke or busy. The last stage production I saw was Once and I would really love to see Wicked.

4. What do you look for when choosing a book?

A lot of things really, everything from the cover (yes, the cover), the blurb, any review quotes on the cover. I find most of the books I read through reviews, Goodreads and social media in general. If it gets good reviews or catches my eye I’ll generally give it a go at some point in the future.

5. If you will give your best friend a book, what would it be?

I give my friends a lot of books, generally when I’m finished with them but would like to talk about them with someone. I recently gave Martin (among other titles) The Long Earth series, I’m going to give Vic Elizabeth Is Missing when I see her soon, my sister’s reading my copy of A Darker Shade of Magic at the moment, and I’m going to be sending an old friend Bri my copy of Only Ever Yours. Usually when I give books to people it’s because I read them recently.

6. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read?

Erm, oh I’m not sure 😦 I’m sure there were a lot of classics that look terrifying that I was scared to start while I was at uni. I suppose the A Song of Ice and Fire series is quite intimidating too, because of its length. I’ve read the first two and I just didn’t enjoy the writing style, so I keep putting off reading the rest, knowing it’ll likely bore me.

7. Any books you’ve been avoiding?

Not really. I found it hard to get into a couple of books I’ve been trying to read so I’m sort of not trying those at the moment and plan to work my way back to them.

8. The longest time you’ve gone without reading?

I’m not sure, but in terms of reading for pleasure it will have been during uni. I just didn’t have time. Weeks, months maybe.

9. Any policy in comes of book lending?

I’ll lend to anyone who’s interested, as long as they don’t let me forget they have my books. I’ve lost a good few favourites over the years and I’m too awkward to ask for them back.

10. Do you have any book bad habits?

I will start books and then forget about them by getting excited about another one, to be honest!

11. What’s your favorite food/snack when you’re reading?

Ummm, I don’t know. Just whatever I have around. Pretzels are good though!

I’m nominating…

  1. Lori
  2. Alina
  3. Fiona
  4. Taylor
  5. Mari
  6. Mallory
  7. Tasmin
  8. Kimberly
  9. Aimal
  10. Amber

My 11 Questions

  1. Where is your favourite reading spot?
  2. How long does it tend to take you to read an average length novel?
  3. Ebooks or hard copies?
  4. Where is your favourite book store in the world?
  5. What is your favourite book to (film/TV/stage/game) adaptation?
  6. What was the last book you found yourself not able to finish?
  7. Have you ever met any of your favourite authors?
  8. If you weren’t a book blogger (or bookish at all), what would you spend your spare time doing?
  9. What was your favourite book of 2014?
  10. What are you most looking forward to reading in the rest of 2015?
  11. If you were (or are) a writer, which genre of books would you write?

Thanks Kath for the nomination. Looking forward to reading those answers!

5 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. 1) At home, on the couch, with the kitty curled next to me
    2) YA- two or three days, adult fantasy- a week, graphic novel – a day. I read several at a time though, so a book I’m really enjoying gets finished faster, a book I’m not liking goes more slowly.
    3) Hard copies from the library, or ebooks for purchase
    4) don’t have one really
    5) Depends on the friend – I match their genre preferences. But Hollows, Gentleman Bastard, and Red Rising are series I’ve gushed about a lot recently.
    6) On Such a Full Sea
    7) Me with Kim Harrison, at a signing last year
    8) Take away the books, and I guess I’d be left with scifi/fantasy television & their fandoms. I could live off fanfiction instead of published books if I had to, but not without reading in general.
    9) Undead Pool, Kim Harrison – getting to the end of a favorite series
    10) An Ember in the Ashes or Crimson Bound
    11) I write greek mythology stories, short stories (all genres), fantasy, and science fiction. Some series I’m still finishing, others are out for submission or self-published. I’ve also written a lot of fanfiction, though I’m not writing much of that at the moment.

Leave a Reply

