Day and Night Book Tag

So this is the Day and Night tag! Amanda over at Chocolate Pages did this tag a little while ago and challenged anyone who felt like doing it to complete the questions. Her answers were all great, and I’d love to read yours, so get involved!

D: Do you read more in the morning or at night?

Erm, it depends. Probably at the moment during the day because at night I really do need to just go straight to sleep as soon as I can, but I read mostly when I’m commuting – which is first thing in the morning, at then in the evening after work.

A: Are there any books that changed the way you thought about things?
Oh definitely, lots. Most books change the way I think I about things to be honest, and if they didn’t they’d not be worth reading. Most recently, Elizabeth Is Missing by Emma Healey, and All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven.

Y: YA or not?
Yeah. YA all the way. To be honest, I feel at times that I read too much YA and when I spend time reading it I am missing out on great fiction that isn’t geared towards young adults but would be appropriate all the same. I enjoy all genres though, so I think I need to remind myself at times to get out of the YA world. I find YA quite easy to pick up, easy to read, and easy to review. So I need to do some things that aren’t so easy.

A: Are there any characters you honestly believe to be real?
Erm. I think once I close a book, even just to take a breath, I’m reminded that it’s fiction (well, when I’m reading fiction, which is most of the time). But when I’m actually in the moment reading a book, yeah, they’re always real to me. If they’re not, I don’t tend to finish the book.

N: Nobody borrows my books or I don’t mind lending them out?
I love to lend out books! Unfortunately I don’t always get them back, but I love to share books. I know what it’s like to be limited by funds when it comes to what and how much I can read, so I like to recommend books to friends by offering to lend them to them – that means they’re more likely to read them and I get to share that experience with them.

D: Do you ever smell your books?

Yes! New, old, in between. Books just smell lush.

N: Not everyone likes books, is this a positive or a negative?
Erm. I don’t know. I don’t think I could say for definite either way. I don’t understand people who don’t read (haha) at all, but I do understand that people are as passionate about other interests and hobbies as I am about books, and that’s okay! As long as you’re doing what you love and not forcing yourself because it’s something you think you should do. I’d never push someone to read who doesn’t want to. You want to play video games instead? Cool. Go for it. But give books a try if you get the chance.

I: I keep my books in the best condition or maybe not? Which are you?
Erm. I used to be super anal about it, I wouldn’t break the spine, I wouldn’t eat while reading. Now my books get battered and bent and bruised and I see it as a sign of them being loved and being read. Of course I’d like to look at my bookshelves and see pristine copies of all of my favourite books but to me it’s unrealistic. They get messy in my bag when I’m running to catch a train. They get hot chocolate stains on them. Trying to read a book without breaking the spine is stressful! I stopped worrying about keeping my books looking pretty and more about enjoying them that I can’t imagine spending so much time trying to keep them clean again. After all, it’s what’s inside that counts (if you can see the words under all that hot chocolate).

G: Gosh I have too many books! True or False?

Some days I feel this way. Some days I feel the opposite. I do need to have a bit of a cull and give some to charity, I think. But most of the time, even though loads of the ones I own I haven’t yet read, I am stuck feeling like I’ll never have enough books. I think overall it’s not about owning them but reading and loving them, so maybe soon I’ll transition to donating my read books, and borrowing from the library/friends.

H: Have you ever spilled or stained your books before with something, and if so how?

Yeah, all the time. Not a ridiculous amount. But I’m clumsy and accidents happen. Pasta stain? Totes happened. Hot drinks? Inevitable. Chocolate smudges? I would be lying if I said no.

T: Toned or untoned while reading? . . or in other words. . .Do you read and workout at the same time?
Erm, I have worked out and read at the same time. I general don’t. I like to do quite active work outs rather than just treadmill or elliptical and that makes it quite hard. And I run outside so reading a book is difficult on a jog. However, I’m starting to listen to audiobooks more so this may be something that could be combined!

I’d love to see what other people would respond to these questions, so if you’ve not done this tag and are reading this, and are interested, please do it! And link down below in the comments and I’ll pop over and read your responses!

3 thoughts on “Day and Night Book Tag

  1. Thanks for linking me into this. I’m glad you did it too. I never thought of audio books while exercising!! That might work, worth a try to make exercise more interesting.

Leave a Reply

