Reading Habits Book Tag

Thanks to the lovely A Reading Writer for tagging me to do this little questionnaire about reading habits. I don’t get tagged very often, so it’s nice to get involved in these kinds of things 🙂

♥ Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
I tend to read mostly in my bed or on the couch, depending on whether or not my mum is in – for some reason reading in bed is apparently more lazy than reading on the couch! However, I’ll be moving down to London soon and when I move into my own place I would really like to pick up a nice comfy reading chair so that I can save my bed for just sleeping.

♥ Bookmark or random piece of paper?
I love bookmarks, I pick up way more than I could possibly use, but I often find myself forgetting to take them and just grabbing a random piece of paper/receipt/train ticket or whatever. It’s not too much of a problem as long as I have something to mark my place. Either that, or if I have nothing, I’ll just update my status on Goodreads with the page I’m on so I can check it when I pick the book back up later.

♥ Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/a certain amount of pages?
It depends on how tired I am or if I’m interrupted. I always try and end with a chapter, but sometimes it gets to the point where I’m so tired I’m not paying enough attention and it would be a waste to carry on reading, there’s also those times where it’s your stop on the train/bus. If I’m travelling somewhere I’ll try and stop at the end of the chapter and then twiddle my thumbs until it’s my stop, so I don’t have to stop right in the middle of one.

♥ Do you eat or drink while reading?
Yeah I do. I feel like I probably shouldn’t but I tend to snack a lot, or I won’t be able to stop reading long enough to eat whatever meal I’ve been making or had made for me (thanks mum!). I also read a lot in Costa, because they do really nice vegan hot chocolates. I’m often posting photos of my hot chocolate & current book on Instagram.

A photo posted by Amy Tunnerz (@litlifeblog) on Aug 6, 2015 at 10:55am PDT

♥ Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
I prefer none at all. I can just about manage to read if someone else is watching TV, or if it’s really loud on public transport and the only way I can drown it out enough to read is by listening to music with headphones. Other than that I prefer silence.

♥ Reading at home or everywhere?
Everywhere. Lately I’ve been reading a lot at home, waiting for my new job to start, but when I’m working I’ll read on the bus/train/tube, read on my lunch break, read in the park, read wherever I can fit the time in.

♥ Reading out loud or silently in your head?
Definitely silently in my head. I feel a bit silly reading out loud, though will admit that some writing and some lines have to be read out loud to get the full benefit of them. I just hope in those moments that nobody else is around to hear me.

♥ Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
Not really. Sometimes I realise that I’m reading so quickly that I’m missing words here and there though and have to go back and read properly, so I end up taking longer to read anyway!

♥ Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
I used to be really picky about this and hated breaking the spine, and hated people who broke the spine! Now I don’t mind, I don’t do it on purpose, I just read comfortably and if the spine breaks then it breaks, I try not to worry about it too much.

♥ Do you write in your books?
It depends on the book. Mostly not, but I did pick up the habit at university of writing notes and so sometimes I do. It’s nice to re-read or flick through a book I’ve read before and written in the margins, to see how I felt about things when I first read them.

Now it’s my turn to tag some folks to do this tag!

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Reading Habits Book Tag

  1. Thanks for tagging me, this is a really good tag that I haven’t done before. So, I will enjoy writing this one. I love the idea of getting a reading chair, I will have one at some point too!
    I will link you in when I have written my post.
    Amanda.

  2. Thank you for the tag, my brain is telling me I’ve completed this oneee but will link it if I can find it in the muddle of posts on the blog 🙂 great answers btwww 🙂

Leave a Reply

