Let’s Get Lost – Adi Alsaid – Book Review

cover48481-medium

I received this copy via NetGalley, in return for an honest review.

LET’S GET LOST – Adi Alsaid

The road trip of a lifetime…

One girl could change four lives forever…Mysterious Leila, who is on the road trip of a lifetime, has a habit of crashing into people’s worlds at the moment they need someone the most. There’s Hudson, who is willing to throw away his dreams for love. And Bree, a runaway who seizes every Tuesday-and a few stolen goods along the way. Elliot who believes in happy endings…until his own goes off-script. And Sonia who worries that she’s lost her ability to love. Hudson, Bree, Elliot and Sonia find a friend in Leila. But Leila’s trip could help her discover something bigger – that sometimes, the only way to find what you’re looking for is to get lost along the way…

I read this book over a few sittings, or more, a few journeys. I limited myself to reading it on the train/tube, and it was quite fitting considering how the whole premise of the novel is set around Leila’s journey to see the Northern Lights.

I absolutely loved this novel. I can barely fault it at all. When the first section ended, and Hudson is left, replaced by Bree, I was absolutely heartbroken. Eventually I got used to the idea that each section would be, rather than about Leila, a small part of each character’s life. In effect, it is four short stories, linked only by whirlwind Leila and the open road between her home and Alaska. The stories are barely believable, but the dialogue is realistic, and I found myself believing mostly the characters that Alsaid created, they felt like real people to me, with real reactions to the strange situations they were in. I only wish I could have followed them where they next went in their lives, but the point is that we can’t.

What I wasn’t expecting was the plot twist towards the ends. I won’t spoil it, of course, but there are moments in my memory that linked up once that secret was revealed. It was satisfying, to say the least, but came a little out of left field. Like a standard YA novel, there is a happy ending, but I appreciated that Alsaid made it a little less happy than it could have been. Not everything is perfect, though when you get attached to your characters, and want to make your readers happy, it is tempting to tie up every loose end.

This book is one of the easiest recommendations I could make. I’ll happy buy this for a friend, I’ll probably buy it for my sister when I next pop to my local bookshop. You should too!

My personal rating: 4.5/5. Amazon average: 4.4/5. Goodreads average: 3.83/5.
Buy from: Amazon / Hive / Your Local Indie Book Store ♥
Published: 29/07/2014
Pages: 352
Publishers: Harlequin
ISBN: 9780373211241

Leave a Reply

